Lockdown Your Zoom Sessions to Avoid Unwanted Activity
As a Zoom host, publicly sharing your Zoom link (e.g., on social media) can lead to privacy issues in your meeting or class including unauthorized screen sharing and malicious comments. Avoid unwanted activity in your meetings and classes by adjusting your Zoom settings beforehand. Adjusting your settings is also a good practice for private Zoom links as well, as this helps hosts manage the meeting or classroom more effectively.
- When you share your meeting link on public forums, anyone with the link can join your meeting.
- Avoid using your Personal Meeting ID (PMI) to host public events. Users can access your PMI, which is your personal virtual space, even after the meeting is over.
- Disable Participants' Screen Share Access (prevent unwanted or inappropriate sharing)
- Disable Join Before Host Setting (malicious users can't cause trouble before the host arrives)
- Enable and Add a Meeting Co-Host (assign others, like a teaching assistant, to help moderate)
- Disable Removed Participants or Panelists to Rejoin Setting (participants previously removed from host cannot return to meeting or class)
- See more tips to combat unwanted activity in your Zoom sessions.