Skip to Content
Texas State University

File Share Alerts in Teams, OneDrive, and SharePoint

To help protect Texas State University data and better secure information, we recommend that you never share information or documents that contain sensitive or confidential information with anyone, especially anyone outside of Texas State, by sharing a document in OneDrive, SharePoint, or Teams. For those of you who have business needs requiring you to send confidential or sensitive information, we advise using our secure Texas State File Transfer service.
 
Should you inadvertently share confidential or sensitive information by sharing a document in OneDrive, SharePoint, or Teams, you will be alerted prior to sending or sharing. These alerts will help you make secure sharing decisions.


Teams File Share Alert

If you share a file containing confidential information with an email address that is not @txstate.edu, you will see a warning.

NOTE: If you have a business need to send the document to an outside email address, we strongly suggest you stop here and send the file via Texas State File Transfer. However, if using file transfer does not meeting your legitimate business need, follow these steps:

  1. Click What can I do?

    what can I do link
     
  2. Click the radio button next to one of the following:
    Override and send.
    Override and send, and report it to my admin (if you think this message was blocked in error)
     
  3. Enter your justification, and click Confirm.

    enter justification and click continue

SharePoint and OneDrive File Share Alert

If you share a file containing confidential information with an email address that is not @txstate.edu, you will see a warning.

  1. To learn more, click View policy tip.

    view policy tip

    NOTE: If you have a business need to send the document to an outside email address, we strongly suggest you stop here and send the file via Texas State File Transfer. However, if using file transfer does not meeting your legitimate business need, proceed to step two.
     
  2. Click Override.

    override policy
     
  3. In the text field, enter your business justification.

    enter business justification

    A message will display confirming that you have overridden the policy and can continue the file share.

    policy overridden